Thursday, May 3, 2012

Peaks of Nepal

From Nepal Travel Brochure 2011:

Nepal has the largest share of the highest peaks in the world. Of the fourteen peaks over 8,000m known as the eight thousanders, eight of them are in the Himalayas.  These include Mount Everest(8,848m) and the third highest, Mt. Kanchenjunga(8,586m). Attempts were made on Mt. Everest since the 1920s, but it was only in 1953 that the peak was successfully climbed.  The 1950s became the Golden decade of climbing as most of the eight thousanders were conquered within ten years.  Annapurna(8,091) was the first among them to be climbed.  The other eight-thousanders are Lhotse(8516m), Makalu(8463m), Cho Oyu(8,021m), Dhaulagiri(8,167m) and Manaslu(8,163m).

No comments:

Post a Comment